Secular Prayers and Blessings

2006_0512Spring070016
A bow from my cabin squirrel

Here’s hoping your “National Day of Prayer” is a good opportunity to reflect on these deeply spiritual issues:

-What does prayer really mean in 2016?

-Who am I praying to. . .and why?

-What would happen if I did NOT pray today?

-What would happen if NO ONE prayed today?

-Are the prayers of billions of people who don’t believe the same as I do heard by MY God or THEIRS?

-How can a Secular Country that welcomes faith and no faith but also stands for Separation of Religion and State proclaim a “National Day” to be Religious (or other faith-based “Holidays”)?

I will be saying my Secular Prayers for the world today and each day.  Would you like an example?

Deep breath. . .smile. . .another breath. . .opening my eyes wide. . .looking out over the fields of green. . .hearing birds. . .hoping good things for our world. . .reasoning. . .nodding my head. . .wondering. . . . . . . . . . .saying WOW!  (What a World of Wonder)!. . .smile. . .back to work. . .living

(I DO know of one annual interfaith event for the so-called “National Day of Prayer” that includes an Atheist–praise Good!  WOW!)

One thought on “Secular Prayers and Blessings

Leave a Reply

