Maybe There is No Soul, But There is a Self

It's just a pancake
It’s just a pancake

I’m wondering if Religion’s “Great Distraction Machine” (GDM:  constructed of Theology and Creed, operated by Clergy using Ancient Manuals written on Crumbling Papyrus) has given us a “stone instead of a fish” for all this time.

Where Psychology speaks of a “self,” Religion has spiritualized us into “souls.”

I wonder.

The mystery and beauty of the Human Person has been devalued by an invented something called a “Soul.”

{cue the “Soul Music”}

It may take a poet to shake us awake.  Poetry might help us understand that we need to Unplug the GDM.

Walt Whitman gave us hints that might help. . .

“I celebrate myself, and sing myself, and what I assume you shall assume,

For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

I loafe and invite my soul, I lean and loafe at my ease observing a spear of summer grass.

My tongue, every atom of my blood, formed from this soil, this air. . . .”

Beautiful.  Wonderful enough.  This Self, this Me, this You!

Isn’t it time to unplug the GDM?

Leave a Reply

