The Courage and Honesty to Change Your Mind

The Big World of Free Choices
The Big World of Free Choices

This extraordinary statement by Representative Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), could be a great model and lesson for others to take the same steps toward experience and education that he did.  And his personal process of evolving on this one issue is helpful in Faith Issues as well.

Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), a longtime opponent of abortion, announced in an op-ed on Tuesday that he now supports abortion rights after having talked to women in difficult circumstances throughout his home state.

“I have sat with women from Ohio and across the nation and heard them talk about their varying experiences: abusive relationships, financial hardship, health scares, rape and incest,” wrote Ryan. “These women gave me a better understanding of how complex and difficult certain situations can become. And while there are people of good conscience on both sides of this argument, one thing has become abundantly clear to me: the heavy hand of government must not make this decision for women and families.”

“Today, I am a 41-year-old father and husband whose feelings on this issue have changed,” he wrote. “I have come a long way since being a single, 26-year-old state senator, and I am not afraid to say that my position has evolved as my experiences have broadened, deepened and become more personal. And while I have deep respect for people on both sides of this conversation, I would be abandoning my own conscience and judgment if I held a position that I no longer believed appropriate. I have come to believe that we must trust women and families—not politicians—to make the best decision for their lives.”

There is power in really listening, finding out what real people go through, and to Make a Choice to be a freethinking human being, even though you may suffer for it.

{and, yes, he’s a politician, so I take it all with a chunk of salt. . .yet, it’s still admirable}

 

2 thoughts on “The Courage and Honesty to Change Your Mind

  1. Just on a side note, I thought I was following your blog for months. Really, I am the least tech savvy person ever.

    Now, that out of the way, I am quite happy to read this post. For me, even if he’s just doing it as a stunt, there’s enough truth there to work with. Unfortunately, the cynic in me thinks he’s going to get run out of office for not being “conservative” enough on abortion. So in a way, I’ll be saddened if he gets punished by people for this.

    Still, if he manages to get his view to flourish, it definitely would be worth the try!

    1. “Enough truth to work with”. Great line. Truth tellers, honest folks, don’t seem to get far in leadership positions, but that’s not to say I’m not hopeful some will slip through. Thanks for the comment and follow!

Leave a Reply

