Progress in the Religion of Church

libby lane

I’m always pleased when Religion, specifically the Church Religion, takes a step forward, makes progress. . .moves, at all.  Honestly, though, it’s not so pleasing. . .I find it both humorous and sad.

At the moment, we can congratulate the Rev. Libby Lane, the first woman ever named Bishop by the Anglican Church.

Church of England Names Its First Female Bishop

I see she’s served as a hospital Chaplain with a commitment to social causes.  Impressive.  I would guess those orgs will be sad to see her leave the worthy work.

While we’re congratulating this step forward into modern times. . .let’s pause to give thought to this:

The Rev. Libby Lane, who has been a parish priest for 20 years, will be consecrated on Jan. 26, becoming the first woman to hold that position since the church was founded five centuries ago.

Yes, only Five Centuries!  Not since the happy days of King Henry the 8th and his Merry (headless) Wives has the Holy Religion of Man Church heard the Male Voice of God saying, “Ok, I give in, let’s see one of them gals wear the holy dress you guys have been hiding in for all these years.  I’m guessing they will look better in the sacred skirts–and those HATS!”  Or something.

Makes us all wait expectantly for the NEXT “progressive” babystep step of the Religion of Church!

No wonder some of us sense that the Church, and Religion itself, is certainly not a headlight for the forward movement of humanity, but maybe a stoplight. . .or stuck in the trunk. . .or, simply running behind trying desperately to catch up.  (It’s hard to carry all those heavy scriptures, theology  books and creeds while holding up the gilded robes to run without losing your head hat!)

2 thoughts on “Progress in the Religion of Church

  1. Though I no longer belief when I saw the headline I thought to myself, “You go girl!”

    At the time of my departure from the church (not belief which came later) I simply told my husband I could not sit through one more sermon telling the faithful that women can’t do this and can’t do that.

    1. I hear you, Zoe. We can applaud some of this forward movement (and church career advancements), yet, as some of us were saying many years ago, it seems little more than dressing up for a party. . .on the Titanic.
      A peaceful season to you.

Leave a Reply

