Are You a [Blank] or Something Greater?

world citizen

Came across this famous thought from the Roman Slave and Stoic Philosopher, Epictetus (Golden Sayings, 15):

“If what philosophers say of the kinship of God and [Humans] be true, what remains for us to do but [what] Socrates did–never, when asked one’s country, to answer, ‘I am an Athenian or a Corinthian,’ but ‘I am a citizen of the world.’ “

What would YOU answer when asked about your (greater) citizenship?

What would YOU answer when asked about your (greater) beliefs?

Are YOU a _______________ or a _______________, or a Citizen of the World?

{Revolutionary Thomas Paine made a similar statement:  “My country is the world, and my religion is to do good.”  The Rights of Man, Part II}

 

 

3 thoughts on “Are You a [Blank] or Something Greater?

  1. My nationality/culture is part of my identity. I’m Irish and I’m also a woman, a gamer, an atheist, a skeptic, an artist, a feminist, a rocker, a widow, a friend, a sister, a daughter, and much more. None of these define me by themselves and I’m not the same as anyone else who identifies with them. I won’t let any part of my identity be defined as ‘us’ Versus ‘them’.

      1. Thanks. The closest I get to being a citizen of the world is probable identifying as an human/earthling, haha. I agree with the sentiment, I just felt the need to rephrase it for myself.

Leave a Reply

