Citizens of the World

marcus aurelius

“Citizenship” seems a very hot topic these days.

Borders are serious issues.

Defending “Our Side” against “Their Side” of artificial or imaginary lines is deadly business.

Maybe a Fresh Sip of Wisdom in this hot summer would help calm us down, take a deep breath and think a little bigger:

“What remains for us to do is what Socrates did:  never, when asked one’s country, to answer, ‘I am an Athenian or a Corinthian,’ but ‘I am a citizen of the world.’ “

~Marcus Aurelius, Roman Stoic Philosopher and Emperor (121-180) 

“Then I was standing on the highest mountain of them all, and round about beneath me was the whole hoop of the world. . . And I saw that the sacred hoop of my people was one of many hoops that made one circle, wide as daylight and as starlight, and in the center grew one mighty flowering tree to shelter all the children of one mother and one father.”

~Black Elk (Lakota Elder), Black Elk Speaks

“My country is the world, and my religion is to do good.”

~Thomas Paine, The Rights of Man, Part II

Leave a Reply

