A Goddess Does Homework

Image

Alright, I’ll stop for today, but I love these stories of Comic Faith:

Goddess Homework (BBC)

“She’s worshipped by both Hindus and Buddhists in Nepal, who believe she’s a reincarnation of the Hindu goddess Durga.”

“The Kumari’s life of prayer also includes homework. When I go back to the current Kumari’s home, her mother allows me to enter her room and watch a private tutoring session.  For the first time, I see her as a normal girl as she sits quietly at her desk, and carefully takes notes.”

I smile and shake my head at the comedy.  Then, I frown and sigh.  Thinking of my own daughter and her innocence.  Then, of these children in Nepal and their lost childhood, in the name of god.

One thought on “A Goddess Does Homework

  1. This story reminds me of the 14th dalai lama boy who is supposed to be the reincarnation of the Buddha. I posted a photo of this little boy on my website in an article on reincarnation. The lama boy looks like he’s 2-3 years old. Fascinating to see different cultures and rituals. But sad that so many helpless children are indoctrinated into stifling, superstitious beliefs.

    I think it’s important to share these kinds of stories so we understand different cultures…and maybe laugh at the many absurdities and superstitions we also have in our own! Thanks

Leave a Reply

