Guns and Gods. . .again

Image

Bullet-in. . .Bullet-in. . .

Georgia just did it.  Oh yes they did!  God bless ’em.  They passed “the most extreme gun bill in America.” 

Now I want to move to Georgia so I can carry my gun (don’t worry, I’m buying one at the airport as soon as I get there) and carry it proudly, safely and FREELY into the airport, school, CHURCH or anywhere else I WANT.  And I WANT to and I’m FREE to.

The Georgia House passed a sweeping gun bill late Thursday night that allows firearms in bars, nightclubs, school classrooms and certain government buildings that lack security personnel or devices.

Lawmakers moved the bill through the House during the last hour of the night on Thursday, meeting their midnight deadline before the end of the current legislative session. If signed by the state’s governor, the law will give religious leaders the option to “opt-in” to allow guns on their worship premises, where violators cannot be arrested or fined more than $100 each. Additionally, it could grant citizens the right to carry firearms in bars, nightclubs, libraries, sports facilities, senior citizen and youth centers, and on K-12 premises by authorized administrators and teachers.

The law would also allow permit-holders to carry guns into Transportation Security Administration (TSA) checkpoints in airports with no penalty.

Here’s the “dream” (read, nightmare) I share with the Non-Reason Ass. (NRA):

Someday, every American. . .no, really. . .EVERY American, will carry a gun or many guns anywhere, anytime they want to.  And they WILL want to.  Because, well, because. . .they CAN and they WANT to!

You see, if every single person carried a gun, we’d be much, much safer.  Oh yes we would.  Here’s why:

Uh, I’m thinking.  No, no, better not THINK about it. . .  Well, if every man, woman, child and pet carried a weapon, then. . .

We could ALL shoot anyone if we needed to (or wanted to), and no one would EVER hurt anyone or steal anything or do anything bad EVER again.

WAIT!  I’ve got it!  Guns and Gods DO go hot metal in hand.  You see, this sounds EXACTLY like Heaven on Earth!  The peaceful kingdom hath arriveth.  The true and final Christian Nation!  All because of GUNS!  God Bless our Firepower!  Jesus we just LOVE the gun-filled green hills of Georgia!

{The smoke of my dream clears}

But there’s much work to do!  Even many Georgians haven’t got themselves the Religion of Rifles or the Gospel of Guns yet!:

Ninety-one percent of Georgians supported mandatory background checks for all gun buyers, according to a poll published in March 2013 in the wake of the massacre in Newtown, Conn.

Colin Goddard, senior policy advocate for Mayors Against Illegal Guns and a former Georgia resident, told msnbc: “You get to the point where you want to ask: ‘Who exactly are they doing this for?’”

Maybe it’s time to “Open Carry” some Reason?  How ’bout packin’ some Common Sense?  Whip out some Concealed Wisdom?  Or, lock and UN-load while you Pray for Peace rather than a Piece.

Serious Note:  I recently joined Gabrielle Giffords’ Americans for Responsible Solutions.  Of course, you have to be careful whom you support.  Wouldn’t want to be too. . .Responsible or Reasonable.

8 thoughts on “Guns and Gods. . .again

    1. Actually I think responsible people who really need weapons (such as police and military members) should have them. Hunting is unnecessary for the vast majority in our time. Yet, if someone needs to hunt for their food, and can do that responsibly, I don’t have a big problem with that.

      1. If private security is truly necessary I have no problem. The concern here is not the outlawing of firearms but the encouragement of sanity, safety and responsible common sense. Contrary to the rhetoric, I don’t see the U.S. trying to take away necessary weapons from responsible people (the 2nd Amendment, in my view, is not about individual rights but national security). Responsible and reasonable gun owners would support reasonable regulation.

      2. So basically if someone has the money they can hire armed security but someone who has to work late in a bad neighborhood is SOL just for being poor. I thought only republicans hated poor people.

  1. “, I’m buying one at the airport as soon as I get there) and carry it proudly, safely and FREELY into the airport, school, CHURCH or anywhere else I WANT. And I WANT to and I’m FREE to.”

    I plan to carry a concealed Smith & Wesson revolver to church today. Do it every Sunday and it still hasn’t leaped out of my pants and shot anyone yet (unlike your mouth).

    lwk

    1. “Free2beinamerica”. . .I guess you are “free” to do that, as I am free to question the purpose of that and to work for the freedom for all Americans, not just gun owners, to live free of the fear of violence. I wonder why you are so afraid and what you are afraid of. I wonder what your church (your god, your holy book and your Jesus) teaches on that? Some of the parents and their children may wonder why you would bring a loaded firearm into a “sanctuary” where you haven’t shot anyone “yet.” The “yet” may be one clue. And why “concealed”? I urge reasonable, responsible use of firearms (I used to teach firearm safety). I recommend some deep thinking and soul-searching about fearfulness, faith and freedom. I truly wish you (and those around you) peace and freedom from fear!

Leave a Reply

