Voice from Africa

ethiopian children

A young freethinking friend of mine in Ethiopia writes to say,  

“I am now with some study to present my topic on the Divine Version of Nature especially Birds to persons from related organizations.

To your point  many of our people have mainly the eyes of what nature has to them for consumption [rather] than its Divine Version and Eternal Beauty that it radiates to Human Soul. It is not surprising to face people like in U.S not heard about Muir or Burroughs in this  century when humanity has laid its root with only what we own in a material  manner.

I am now moving privately for my day to day needs though not satisfied in such scopes .

It is my hope and dream to attend your class of especially Muir and Burroughs here in Addis Or there in your home land in a collective mood with related soul mates.”

“The eyes of what nature has [for their] consumption.”

“Humanity has laid its root with only what we own.”

“Moving privately for my day to day needs.”

Powerful words.  Especially needed for American ears, I would say.

He’s referring to my email to him about a class I’m teaching on John Muir and John Burroughs.  My friend gives presentations to governmental agencies about the birds of his beloved homeland (I was happy to send him a pair of binoculars last year).

So, I helped him see a little better.  But he helped me see much, much better.

And hear.

The voices out there on the edges. . .

Leave a Reply

