The Bible says. . .(what I want it to say)

from Unreasonable Faith (Patheos)

Jesus and literalism

In seminary some of us were saturated in “Liberation Theology.”

God had a “preference” for The Poor.

That “call” drove me into ministry and chaplaincy.

When I left the “Church of Jesus” I said Jesus wasn’t there and wouldn’t be welcomed if he showed up.  Besides, he was poor, homeless and hung out with some rough looking folks (who, by the way, weren’t “Christians”).

This poster summarizes what became so painfully obvious:

The irrelevance of The Church and Faith

6 thoughts on “The Bible says. . .(what I want it to say)

  1. Can you really lump all Christians into the same basket? We all still sin, yes. I certainly know their are churches out there that are not trying to help those around them. I am thankful to be part of a church that actually does give within our local community as well as abroad.

    1. I agree, Jill. Lumping is not fair. I see many good people doing many good things in the name of their faith. And many others doing good things without faith. . .just because it’s the good thing to do. So, don’t you think it might be good to focus on the Good and not so much the God, as the motivation for doing what most of us know is good and right? Giving is fine and necessary, but giving because it’s “commanded in scripture” or to “please God” or to “prove faith” seems at best unhelpful in the bigger picture, at least in my view.

      1. It is easy to good when it’s something you like or for a cause you like. It is very different to do good for someone whom you don’t like with no motives. That is faith in action.

  2. Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a Reply

